Jen Dean of Cut + Run Named 2023 AICP Post Awards Chairperson

Matt Miller, President and CEO of AICP, announced today that Jen Dean, a Senior Editor at boutique editorial company Cut+Run, has been named Chairperson of the 2023 AICP Post Awards. In addition, AICP has announced the full lineup of industry experts who will be serving on the AICP Post Awards Curatorial Committee.

The deadline to enter the AICP Post Awards, along with The AICP Show and the AICP Next Awards, is March 6, 2023. Entry details can be found here.

“Jen is an award-winning editor with a passion for creative excellence and is a respected leader in the industry, recognized for her commitment to the craft and artistry of post production,” says Miller. “I can’t think of anyone better suited to lead our Post Awards judging process this year. As an editor, she’ll bring a sharp focus to the curators’ deliberations, too. We’re delighted to have her in this role for 2023.”

“I was so happy to be asked to serve as the AICP Post Awards Chairperson,” Dean says. “It’s such an honor, and knowing I was nominated by people I’ve admired since I started in the industry made it even better.”

Dean began her career at Lost Planet, where she assisted legendary editor Hank Corwin before becoming an editor in her own right in 2006.Her work has consistently reflected her passion for music, deep knowledge of film history, and an appreciation of experimental film she acquired while studying under acclaimed filmmakers Stan Brakhage and Phil Solomon at University of Colorado at Boulder.

Dean knows first-hand the excitement of winning at the AICP Post Awards – she won the first award presented for Best Editing in a Music Video in 2008. Jen Dean’s commitment to storytelling can be seen in her work for noted clients including Instagram, Pandora, The New York Times, Google, and the 2022 Emmy Award winning campaign for New York City “It’s Time for NYC”. Honoring the creativity of the industry is also deeply important to her; she’s an active supporter of AICP’s Camp Kuleshov competition and was a panel moderator during the AICP Week Base Camp in 2022.

2023 AICP Post Awards Curatorial Committee

One of Dean’s key responsibilities as Chair is to form the AICP Post Awards Curatorial Committee, which will determine the selection of the final winners. Dean says her approach to working with her committee will be one of guidance and inclusion. “I’m going to lean into my experience judging past shows and serving on Curatorial Committees to make sure we honor the top work being put out by our creative community and to ensure the selection process includes global voices,” she notes.

“As an editor, I won’t stop working until a cut feels right, and I plan to bring this same enthusiasm and intensity to the judging process for the AICP Post Awards,” Dean continues. “The post community is committed to getting every element just perfect – whether it’s picture, color, sound, graphics or visual effects – and recognizing the top work by artists in their field on a global level is a real thrill. Knowing their winning work will live in the archives of the Department of Film at The Museum of Modern Art further elevates this outstanding achievement.”

In addition to Dean, the Post Awards Curatorial Committee includes post artists and executives from a range of crafts. The roster includes Past AICP Post Awards Chairs Yvette Cobarrubias of Cosmo Street and Chris Franklin of Big Sky Edit. Representing Editorial, the Curators include Editors Holle Singer of ConsulatePaul Martinez of ArcadeRob Ryang of Cut+RunBrandon Porter of Nomad Editing and Charlie Johnston of Lost Planet, along with President/Managing Director Craig Duncan of Cutters Studios. From the Color and VFX crafts, the Curators are Colorists Mike Howell of Color Collective and Sofie Borup of Company 3, Director/VFX Artist Eben Mears of PSYOP, Owner & Creative Director Gina Niespodziani of Hey Beautiful Jerk, VFX Supervisor Sarah Marikar of The Mill and EP of Color/VFX Laurie Adrianopoli of Carbon. From Audio, the Curators include Sound Designer Phil Loeb of Heard City and Sound Designer & Mixer Tom Jucarone of Sound Lounge. Also serving on the committee will be Director Matt Wolf of Epoch, Global Executive Creative Director Julie Scezlo of Dentsu Creative and Head of Production Teri Altman of DDB/NY.

Editorial company Cut+Run is known for creativity, resourcefulness and bringing ideas to life. They are a proud contributor to some of the industry’s most accoladed and highly visible projects. Cut+Run operates under a borderless philosophy making editors available worldwide and on location. With offices in Los Angeles, New York, San Francisco and Austin, as well as a partnership with The Quarry for work in the UK and Europe, its editors and artists have been recognized with awards from every major global competition, including The AICP Show, AICP Post Awards, Ciclope, Clios, Cannes Lions, The One Show and D&AD. In 2021, Cut+Run was named Ciclope’s Editorial Company of the Year, followed by Editorial Company of the Year in 2022 at the Ad Age Creativity Awards.

The AICP Post Awards presents trophies to the post production artists credited with the work in 25 categories covering editorial; music and sound; color grading; and design, visual effects and finishing. New this year is a category recognizing outstanding work in Game Cinematics; it honors excellence in crafting a 2D, CG pre-rendered or Real-Time rendered promotional piece for a video game.

To be eligible for the 2023 AICP Post Awards, work must have first aired or launched between April 4th, 2022 and March 12th, 2023. Past winners of the AICP Post Awards can be viewed at www.aicppostawards.com.

Check back here at SCREEN for the latest from the advertising and creative content community. You can also click right here to subscribe to our weekly email newsletter.

You may also like

Five Questions with Tessa Films Director Mercedes Bryce Morgan
Emmy Winning Editor Morgan Taylor Bradley Comes Home to Whitehouse Post
SEED signs the Goddess of Wisdom, Minerva
Optimus Welcomes Colin Loughlin as Editor

Leave a Reply